Bishop Samuel Kazimba Mugalu Elected new Archbishop of Anglican Church

The House of Bishops of converging at Namirembe has elected Bishop Samuel Kazimba Mugula of Mityana Diocese as the nineth Archbishop of Church of Uganda.

Bishop Kazimba is replacing retiring Archbishop Stanley Ntagali.

This is a developing story and it will be updated from time to time.

Archbishop Ntagali was elected and enthroned as Archbishop on December 16, 2012 at the age of 57, taking over from Henry Luke Orombi.

He turns 65 years old on March 1, 2020, and that is the mandatory age of retirement as Archbishops can serve only for ten years and no more.

The House of Bishops, the body that elects the Archbishop, is still holding closed-door sessions at the Provincial Office of the Church of Uganda, Namirembe.

The House of Bishops is comprised of all active Diocesan and Assistant Bishops. There are 38 Bishops in the House of Bishops.

Sources say the Bishop-elect faced strong competition from Bishop Sheldon Mwesigwa of Ankole Diocese, Bishop Samuel George Bogere Egesa from Bukedi.

The Bishop-elect will not officially become the Archbishop until he is enthroned (installed) as the Archbishop, which will take place on Sunday, 1st March 2020 at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe.

Previous Archbishops

1st Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary and was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)

2nd Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)

3rd Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977.

4th Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983)- In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.

5th Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)

6th Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)

7th Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 – 2012)

8th Archbishop Stanley Ntagali (2012-2020)