Ponsiano Lwakataka Wins Masaka Rally

P. Lwakataka/S. Mugisha – 01:15:21
R. Ssebuguzi/L. Ssenyange – 01:16:219
Duncan Mubiru / Musa Nsubuga 01:16:48
J. Mangat/J. Kamya – 01:17:03
O. Mayanja/H. Mukuye – 01:18:41
K. Walubi/A. Mugambwa – 01:19:27
H. Alwi/S. Kyambadde – 01:19:33
C. Fitidis/R. Darbar – 01:19:36
Y. Nasser/A. Katumba – 01:20:16
A. Blick/G. Ssemakula – 01:20:32

Having completed in the top six in the Mukono rally championship, Ponsiano Lwakataka and Samuel Mugisha in Subaru N12B for the second year running won the Club Tavern Kick Challenge Rally which ended yesterday.

The duo driving the ‘Maanyi g’abantu, clocked 1:15:21 narrowly beating second-placed Ronald Ssebuguzi and Leon Ssenyange by a mere 58 seconds.

Lwakataka attributed his win to the will of the people whom he thanked for their support.” The people have stuck with us during the difficult times and contributed Shs10.5m for this event, he told one of the dailies.

Before the event Lwakataka predicted that he would come out on top just as last season. The win also puts him on 160pts, 80 behind championship leader Ssebuguzi. The Shell Helix driver clocked 01:16:19.

But Ssebuguzi was happy with his performance and scoring for the third time event in a row. Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya who took the opening day, had mechanical problems and were penalized four minutes for delaying in the service park.

But the three-time national champion managed to fight back and finish fourth overall behind Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru.