State House Comptroller Ms. Jane Barekye Commends President Museveni for Initiating the PISGBC Project

Ms. Jane Barekye made her remarks today while at the 4th Graduation ceremony of 16,797 beneficiaries of the PISGBC project from different cohorts starting from 2021 to 2023 at Kololo Independence Grounds where H.E President Museveni was the chief guest.

The State House Comptroller, Ms. Jane Barekye commended President Museveni for initiating the project that has helped to alleviate poverty among the youth.

Graduation – Over 16,000 to graduate from presidential youth skilling programme – Kololo

She also informed the President that the PISGBC recruitment process is a transparent one, which runs on a basis of “First Come, First Serve” as long as the person is between 18 and 35 years of age irrespective of their gender or educational background.

“The project targets the vulnerable ghetto youths both girls and boys from the five divisions of Kampala,” Ms. Barekye said.

Ms. Barekye was also happy to note that the project has already achieved the objective of curbing unemployment among Ugandans since it employs over 800 direct employees and more than 1,000 people indirectly.

“The project has created job makers instead of job hunters. After training these people by equipping them with skills, they go ahead to create their jobs instead of loitering around the streets of Kampala,” she added.

“The project also promotes value addition. The beneficiaries can change raw materials into finished products.”

Ms. Barekye also informed the President that the project has aided in curbing criminality in Kampala.

“We understand that most of these young people were involved in criminal activities but we don’t stop at skilling them, we also do mindset change so by the time they leave the centers,  they are reformed and good citizens.”

The event was also attended by the Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Thomas Tayebwa, Presidency Minister Hon. Babirye Milly Babalanda, Minister of State for Trade, Industry and Cooperatives (Industry), Hon. David Bahati, Minister of State for Trade, Industry and Cooperatives (Trade), Hon. Harriet Ntabazi, Members of Parliament, the Director of DIT, Dr. Patrick Byakatonda, among others.